Good-Bye to All That

As most of you know, on Monday, June 24th the UW Libraries will be moving to a new catalog.  Over the past few weeks we have been freezing various elements of our old system, Millennium.

While I’m not inclined to get overly sentimental over these kind of things, it does mark a big change and this is the last I will see of a screen I have been familiar with for over eight years (at various jobs).

Here’s the bibliographic record (in MARC format) for the final (copy cataloging) record I added:

Little Jack Tar

And here’s an item record from the last (original cataloging) record I created:

American Red Cross Society scrapbooks item record
American Red Cross Society scrapbooks item record

Drop me a line on Monday and let me know how they look in the new catalog. I’ll be in Minneapolis at the Rare Books and Manuscripts (RBMS) Preconference.

Published by

Helice

Although I am a native New Yorker, I seem drawn to the Pacific Northwest. My current gig as Manuscripts & Special Collections Cataloging Librarian at the University of Washington Libraries represents my third stint out here. Prior to coming to the UW, I have worked at the New York Public Library, King County Archives, New York University, and Columbia University (to name but a few).

Leave a Reply

